Reviews2017-10-13T18:35:27+00:00

Reviews

There should be a SIX STAR RATING for Ron at Sherlock Leak Detection.
We called him on a holiday weekend for a second opinion for my elderly mother-in-law who had been told the week before by another plumbing company that she needed to repipe her entire house. For a very reasonable fixed price, Ron came out on a Sunday and inspected her pipes and drains. There was no upsell or creative price adjusting as with the original plumber. Ron gave us a fair price estimate, conducted a thorough inspection and honored his quote.

Ron inspected all four of her bathrooms and found that there was NOT a major leak – just a leaky bathtub. His thorough testing and analysis showed that she did NOT need to repipe. Ron saved her THOUSANDS of dollars. This was a relief both financially and emotionally because we discovered later that the disreputable plumber who had previously inspected her pipes the week before and gave her a $9,000 quote to repipe had limited his inspection to only one bathroom.

More importantly, because my mother-in-law did have a water issue under her hardwood floors caused by faulty work done by the same plumber several months before, Ron connected her with a local restoration company that was experienced in working with her State Farm insurance adjuster. To our delight, this restoration company would take care of the clean up, restoration and move out — with all services being potentially covered by her insurance.

So YES without a doubt, we whole heartedly recommend Ron and Sherlock Lead Detection.

Yelp 1/19/2017
Jill H.
Los angeles, CA.
___________________
Arrived home from a 2 week vacation to find my wood floors buckling in my closet and bedroom. Looked on yelp to find a leak detection service and found sherlock. There aren’t enough stars to give Ron for his service. He showed up quickly, found the leak almost immediately and walked me through the maze of what to do next. He recommended jms plumbing (another excellent service company) and a restoration company (911 restoration – another gem) to help with all of the damage. Its really overwhelming when you dont know where to start but Ron was so calm and professional in his advice and spent as much time as i needed to help me to understand the next steps. And then 2 weeks later i noticed a spot in a completely different location that i thought might be a problem and once again, although sadly it was in fact another leak, Ron was there to save the day. Although i havent yet finished dealing with my issues, i have every confidence that between Ron, Jms, and 911, my house will eventually be back to its original condition.

Yelp 12/27/2016
Florence K.
Studio City, CA.
___________________
Great name for a great company!! Ron, owner of Sherlock, is extremely professional, knowledgeable, and knows how to get the job done. Arrived at our house on the Saturday after Thanksgiving and within a short time had not only found the leak but gave us a solution to be able to turn our water on again. Thanks, Ron, for your expertise and saving us from further home damage.

Yelp 11/29/2016
Linda W.
Calabasas, CA.
___________________
Excellent service. We had a water leak identified by DWP and went to Yelp in search of a leak detection service. Given Ron’s very high rating I called and arranged for Ron to come visit. He was excellent and did a very thorough job which in our case resulted in the identification of several difficult to find leaks. His high Yelp ratings were justified and we were /are very satisfied with his professionalism, quality of his service, promptness and price.

Yelp 10/18/2016
Skip V.
Los Angeles, CA.
___________________
Don’t go to anybody else. You are wasting your time and money. He is the ultimate expert – but most importantly – he doesn’t give up. He thinks. He looks. He tests everything and everywhere. Leaks are sneaky. The obvious is seldom the cause. That’s why you need Sherlock Leak Detection. We tried another well known service who made a big song and dance with lots of fancy equipment and triumphantly identified the spot under the floor. Our plumbers dug furiously, jackhammers going like crazy. And? We found an electric pipe. Not a water pipe in sight. But they took our $300 anyway. Then came Sherlock! He came, he saw, he tested, he conquered. The leak was in the exact spot he identified. We dig up the floor and there it was. Trust me ladies and gents. Sherlock is the man for the job.

Yelp 9/1/2016
Ann P.
Los Angeles, CA.
___________________
Noticed a small leak (the DWP meter triangular trickle meter was turning slowly). I just had a plumber out to fix a major leak, and thought this tiny leak might be related to the work done last week, but wanted an expert lead detection company to find it so I could discuss with plumbing company that did the work. Sent email thru Yelp (one hour quote link) and sure enough I got a response from Ron. When he called me later in the day and I discussed the situation above, he asked a few questions, and said he’d be happy to come out, but first, suggested I turn off all four of my toilet supply lines at the toilet tank value and re-check the trickle meter, as in his experience, this is a possible cause. Told him I would and let him know. Sure enough, he was right. The trickle leak meter stopped rotating, and it was a simple fix for me to adjust the toilet tank supply level so water wasn’t running down the tank drain. Anyway Ron, thanks for your advice, and saving me the expense of a trip charge. But because of your professionalism, you are absolutely the ‘go-to’ guy, the next time I need a professional leak detection service.

Yelp 8/5/2016
Dennis K.
San Fernando Valley, CA.
___________________
I turned to Sherlock Leak Detection after a few mishaps with the plumbers my home warranty company sent out, who are not actually leak detectors but won’t mind charging the customer for it. I read reviews on Yelp and two independent plumbers referred me to him. Ron is a professional. He is punctual and is very good at what he does. He brought in special equipment to listen to the water. He marked the location of the leak. Cost was $295. My whole family room didn’t have to be torn a part to fix the leak thanks to him. Going through an in slab leak is no fun and very stressful, so finding a qualified person to do the job is important. I highly recommend him. He also answered my phone calls and emails even after the job was done when I needed additional advice.

Yelp 5/09/2016
Aileen K.
Porter Ranch, CA.
___________________
Ron was awesome! He came quickly, had all kinds of detection equipment, and found the leak in no time. He was very helpful in referring a restoration company and plumber to handle the rest of the work. I wouldn’t hesitate to call him again in case of another plumbing mystery. I’ve learned the leak is often in a completely different place than where you see it seeping out.

Yelp 5/07/2016
Denise G.
Tarzana, CA.
___________________
After a plumber couldn’t find the water leak in our property, i decided to call Ron. He got back to me quickly and anytime I texted him a question, he responded in a timely manner. I really appreciated that. When he got to the house and started his inspection, I followed him all around and he was nice enough to explain to me what he was checking and giving me good tips on what to look out for, etc. He was able to find the leak pretty quick; really impressed since the plumber and I spent a good amount of time looking for it ourselves. Very knowledgeable and pleasant to deal with. Thank you Ron.

Yelp 3/6/2016
Ted G.
Los Angeles, CA.
___________________
Ron was awesome. I became aware of a leak during the weekend. While other service providers often have answering services and are generally unavailable, Ron was prompt to take a weekend call, late into the evening. He was good about responding and got out to my house in short order. He took the time to explain the process and put me at ease by identifying the exact location and solution. All is good now!

Yelp 4/11/2016
Dave C.
West Hollywood, CA.
___________________
Ron returned my call within 10 minutes and came over shortly thereafter. He was professional from the moment he arrived and introduced himself to the time he left. It took a while for him to narrow down the possible location of the leak and, fortunate for us, it was found under the carpeted area and NOT the hardwood ???? ?And, no, the floor wasn’t warm and the carpet wasn’t wet or, as I told Ron, we would have known where the leak was and I wouldn’t have needed him ???? We have a two story home so it was important to define where all the water lines were running from the water heater in the attached garage to the kitchen and to the three bathrooms, two of them upstairs. We heard this leak in a wall outside the Master Bath upstairs and thank heavens we didn’t cut into the wall to look for it!. Good job Ron! We will call Ron again in an instant if we suspect but can’t find a leak and we will highly recommend him to our friends.

Angie’s List 4/15/2016
Vicki R.
Woodland Hills, CA.
___________________
Fantastic job!!! Found the leak location in about 10 minutes using an IR camera and sonic leak detection instrumentation. Was extremely polite and courteous and explained all the steps taken as well as suggestions on how to fix the leak as well as professional plumber references if I did not want to fix/bypass the leak myself. You could not ask for more. Price was extremely reasonable.

Angie’s List 12/09/2015
Louis Z.
Moorpark, CA.
___________________
I knew I had a leak somewhere as my water bill was high, for several months, and after changing out a couple toilets and still having a high bill I started to have problems with a tankless water heater that would not come on. When I checked it out I could hear water flowing through the hot water line even when everything was shut off. I installed all the plumbing 20 years ago during a remodel so I knew the layout of the plulmbing and since I was seeing no signs of a leak or warm floor I was nervous and knew I needed someone to really confirm I had a leaky pipe under the slab. I looked for leak detection specialists and was hesitant about many of the plumbers that advertise leak detection because I know most are not equipped or trained to do the level of leak detection I needed. I called Ron at 6:30am on a Saturday and he called back within about an hour. He was able to come out by 9:00am so this was fast. Once there he set up his equipment (pretty sophisticated stuff that enables him to trace the line and then listen for the leak, even though it is 3′ underground. ) Within 45 minutes he had identified the location of the leak and even let me listen on his equipment to confirm the leak. Then he suggested a couple different options to repair the leak and ensure it did not leak again in the future. This was great information that now enables me to find a plumbing contractor to come and quote a specific job and not fall victim to a plumber suggesting a very expensive and disruptive solution.

I highly recommend Ron for his skills, promptness and customer service! Thanks again Ron.

Yelp 12/13/2015
Scott H.
Torrance, CA.
___________________
I see why this guy has all 5 stars! We used him yesterday after discovering an astronomical water bill. He found the leak and was so nice and gave very good advice about what I should be paying to get the leak repaired so I don’t get taken advantage of. I really appreciated his kindness and expertise.

Yelp 12/2/2015
Sarala W.
Sherman Oaks, CA.
___________________
After failing my attempts with two plumbers to find a leak in my bathroom, I called Sherlock leak detection and Ron was at my house within an hour. He successfully found the leak in no time. I highly recommend his services.

Angie’s List 11/16/2015
William S.
Los Angeles, CA.
___________________
You are truly the best! You even waited until the leak was capped. No wonder all your reviews are so good!
For me, you are the perfect person for this job.
Your will stay with the plumber until you are sure that the work is done correctly.
Thanks a million!

Yelp 7/28/2015
Yvette K.
Santa Monica, CA.
___________________
I noticed water along the baseboard near my vanity in the master bathroom. Ron came to inspect, and was able to actually pinpoint the source of the leak which was on the other side of the house in my dining room (improperly capped pipe). He was very thorough and professional, and has also recommended a plumber and restoration company to provide estimates to do the fix (Sherlock Leak Detectives find leaks, but are not a plumbing service). It was worth having Ron come out, and use his expertise to diagnose the problem before calling in other services IMO.

Angie’s List 8/21/2015
Daos B.
Burbank, CA.
___________________
Provider was able to identify the source of a leak after a plumber and a tile specialist were completely baffled. Provided a complete report to show to future repair men. He was extremely knowledgeable and provided perfect service.

Angie’s List 7/15/2015
Paul T.
Los Angeles, CA.
___________________
Provider is a leak detection specialist. I had moisture coming from somewhere and didn’t have any idea where it was coming from. The moisture was causing mineral deposit calcification in the grout of my kitchen countertop and backsplash. Provider expertly used an array of methods to locate source of leak. I was thrilled to learn that repairing the leak would be a minor job instead of a major job requiring ripping out walls. Providers fee was worth every penny for resolution and peace of mind. Ron was very professional and courteous.

Angie’s List 7/11/2015
Deborah R.
Los Angeles, CA.
___________________
Professional, smart, well equiped and detailed oriented. Arrived on time and did an excellent job. Have used other services in the past and Ron is the best.

Yelp 6/22/2015
Kim P.
Los Angeles, CA.
___________________
Unbelievably good service. I had a very hard to find the leak. Several plumbers said I needed to dig up my slab. Sherlock said it was a simple leak under the toilet. It was a simple wax ring.

Angie’s List 3/30/2015
Lori U.
Studio City, CA.
___________________
I called Ron last night based on referrals and reviews. He called back within hours and came out on a Sunday night.
We had hot kitchen tiles that had gotten warmer. It was indicated that we had a slab leak. Ron used high tech equipment to determine the general area of the leak. He was thorough and complete.
We now have a plan to give our plumber to detect the exact place the leak is coming from. He made himself available to further discuss options for repair with our plumber.
I am hopeful that Ron’s work will get the bottom of this to repair.
Thanks Ron.

Yelp 6/15/2015
Melissa R.
Thousand Oaks, CA.
___________________
We have had an “continuous flow” problem now for months. Two different plumbers didn’t know how to diagnose what Ron (Sherlock Leak Detection) was able to diagnose in 5 minutes. He is very knowledgeable about what can be the cause. We were lucky that our problem didn’t have anything to do with our irrigation system, as that is more difficult to diagnose, but I am sure Ron could figure that out as well. A+

Angie’s List 6/1/2015
Ada H.
Beverly Hills, CA.
___________________
We noticed that some spots in the laundry room and the in the adjacent guest bath felt slightly warm when we walked over them wearing socks or with bare feet. Over several weeks the heat was definitely more noticeable. We did a google search of the symptoms and to our dismay it described the possibility of a hot water line leak under the slab foundation. We called Ron at Sherlock Leak Detectives and he was very professional and helpful over the phone. We made an appointment for the same day and he arrived as promised.

Ron is very thorough and he explains every step of the process. He uses high tech equipment and is very tenacious in trying to locate the leak. You can tell that he is not just going through the motions, but instead really cares about trying to isolate the leak. He uses high tech infrared detection, sound isolation with high tech microphones, and put pressurized air into your pipes to further confirm the sounds of leakage under the slab foundation. Ron even came back two days later after I called him and expressed lingering concerns that there may be more than one leak location. Ron showed up and very thoroughly went through the entire process again and confirmed that there was only one leak site. I asked him what the charge was for his second visit and he refused to charge me saying that it was part of his job to make sure the I was satisfied.

The next day my plumber came out and found the leak under the slab exactly where Ron had isolated the sound. They repaired the leak by re-sectioning the portion of the copper pipe. It was a relatively major plumbing problem, but disaster averted due to early detection. Thanks Ron!!

Yelp 5/15/2015
Wayne S.
Los Angeles, CA.
___________________
Ron came out today and was EARLY for our 7 AM appointment. That was a good sign. It took about 15 minutes to locate a leaking pipe in my flower bed after he “gassed” the system. Bubbles popped up. We dug down with a shovel and made sure we had the right location. I have to get plumber now to replace the old pipe.
Good work and thanks.

Yelp 5/1/2015
Josh. F.
Sherman Oaks, CA.
___________________
Conducted a water leak detection survey of our home. An electronic/acoustic, meter testing thermal imaging was utilized to determine that the water damage was caused by a broken shower mixer valve in the second floor bathroom.
I called Wednesday afternoon and the owner of the business agreed to come early Thursday afternoon. He was prompt courteous, answered all my questions and showed me all areas where we had leaks. He was spot on. Within a week we had a plumber and mold remediation team in our house opening walls exactly where leak detection had found problems. Knowing where the problem was located allowed us to address the areas of concern.

Angie’s List 4/6/2015
Jennifer. C.
Santa Monica, CA.
___________________
Very nice guy. I called him yesterday and he was able to come today. He found the leak I suspected plus an additional leak. Very nice person, answered all my questions and took time to investigate all of the areas I was concerned about. Highly recommended.

Yelp 3/17/2015
John. E.
Chatsworth, CA.
___________________
Sherlock leak detection is the best. No need to hire anyone else. They have solved my leak problem faster than anyone could. Simply the greatest!!! -Mike Schwartz

Yelp 3/12/2015
Mike. S.
Los Angeles, CA.
___________________
Let me just tell you, in a time when customer service has almost disappeared, this company is a breath of fresh air. I spoke to Ron over the phone and he was probably one of the most helpful people ever. He explained everything over the phone extremely well and even helped me try to trouble shoot my possible leak right over the phone. It was so nice to experience someone who actually cares about there job and the people they service. As of know I do not need there services, but let me tell you if I do there will be only one company I call and that this one. Highly recommend!

Yelp 12/17/2014
Marc. S.
Hawthorne, CA.
___________________
I discovered I had a leak on 12-1-14. Based on other reviews, I contacted Sherlock and Ron came out promptly. He made quick work of locating the leak which allowed me to contact my plumber right away. He also referred me to Voge Inc for water restoration services (I’ve also left a review for them). He reassured me during a stressful time and was extremely professional and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend his services to anyone in need.

Yelp 12/1/2014
Donna. B.
Carson, CA.
___________________
Detected hot water leak in kitchen floor slab without any difficulty confirming by a variety of methods.

Angie’s List 10/24/2014
William S.
Northridge, CA.
___________________
I called them and they came out the very next morning. Very kind and professional. Our leak was somewhere outside under a concrete walk way. They located the leak so we did not have to tear up the entire walk way. Saved a lot of time and headache. I would totally recommend them to anyone needing to find the source of a leak.

Angie’s List 12/18/2014
Danielle. N.
Calabasas, CA.
___________________
We had an ongoing leak in our master bathroom, and we just couldn’t seem to locate the source. Thanks to the rave reviews here on Yelp, I decided to give Sherlock Leak Detectives a try. Ron was at our house within one hour of my phone call. He located the problem quickly and efficiently, and we felt his rate was very fair. We were extremely pleased with his professionalism. Thanks again Ron!

Yelp 11/19/2014
Jen. G.
Thousand Oaks, CA.
___________________
Ran from Sherlock Leak Detectives is super professional and quite smart in the way he very quickly isolates the location of the leak. In our case it could have been several landscape irrigation lines but he was able to isolate both the line and the area of the where the leak was located. He works methodically and quickly.
Great job!

Yelp 11/17/2014
E. G.
Topanga, CA.
___________________
Ron from Sherlock Leak came out promptly and quickly found our leak. It was three feet down under a brick walkway and 8″ concrete slab and under gas lines and drain pipes. He located it to within inches. This was after a plumber said it was two leaks in totally different areas. This is the only company I would recommend for tough problems like this. Ron is a total professional.

Yelp 11/11/2014
Kat P.
Peninsula, CA.
___________________
I called Ron and he was at our home within a few hours. He performed a thorough check and quickly and correctly identified the area of the leak. This allowed us to have a repair done the next day. I highly recommend using Ron. His service can avoid prolonging the damage done from leaking pipes and reduce the time a plumber needs to make repairs. Well worth the cost!

Angie’s List 9/22/2014
Stacy S.
West Hills, CA.
___________________
We had just had water damage outside our home and had another plumber fix the broken pipe, but they didn’t use any special leak detection equipment and I didn’t feel 100% confident that they had found and repaired the only leak. For peace of mind, i called Sherlock Leak Detection to come do a thorough evaluation and confirm that we didn’t have any other leaks on our property. He was already in our area, so he came by within about an hour of when I called him – and since he only had to confirm that there WASN’T a leak, and not actually pinpoint where a leak was, he charged us less than his usual rate. He was prompt, considerate, and thorough – and more importantly, gave me the peace of mind that we won’t be experiencing another expensive water damage claim anytime soon!

Angie’s List 8/28/2014
Juli L.
Sherman Oaks, CA.
___________________
Details of the Recommendation: “Raanan is a great guy to work with. He always operates with high integrity and will not rest until he finishes the job and if he has any issues on the job Raanan was always quick to resolve them in a fair and friendly manner. I would highly recommend him.” Year first hired: 2013 (hired more than once).

LinkedIn 9/3/2014
Vince G.
Simi Valley, CA.
___________________
Ron checked for water leaks, he was extremely informative and very proactive in his work. He answered all my questions and even offered a referral, whom he called while at my home to explain the problem. I highly reccommend Sherlock Leak Detectives for their performance quality and for taking some of the mystery out of the water repair.

Angie’s List 8/30/2014
Alfonso C.
Valley Village, CA.
___________________
Systematic hunt for leaks. Determined which lines ran inside house and the 4 lines outside the house. Used sensitive ear phones and injected pressurized air to locate the bad line. Excavated the suspicious site and wouldn’t leave until he found, felt and saw the leak in a sprinkler feed pipe. Cleaned up and reset all manual valves.

Angie’s List 7/30/2014
Biagio S.
Thousand Oaks, CA.
___________________
I was shocked when I got my water bill, it was the size of a mortgage payment. I knew I used, a large amount of water due to work we had done on our pool. However when I called the DWP they were able to deduce that it wasn’t all from refilling the pool. I had a leak and it had been running for months. So when the DWP finally came out to read the meter, the bill was a whopper. The weird thing about this leak was it was occult, no obvious wet spots.We called Sherlock leak and slowly, carefully Ron methodically tracked down the leak after 2 1/2 hours. It wasn’t easy and variety of high tech equipment was needed, but Ron found it under cement. Now on to the repair.

Thanks Ron!

Yelp 7/12/2014
El C.
Encino, CA.
___________________
I have nothing but great things to say about Sherlock Leak Detectives.
Recently I heard water rushing inside one of our walls. I called Hotline Plumbing (see separate review) and they called Sherlock to come out and find the problem. Even though this was late afternoon/early evening on a Sunday, Sherlock Leak Detectives came out quickly and found the burst pipe right away.
I hope you never have to face a burst pipe, but if you do, I highly recommend Sherlock Leak Detectives!

Yelp 6/30/2014
Burt H.
West Hills, CA.
___________________

Solid service. very thorough. Just understand that Ron doesn’t do repairs which is good cause the service is not biased. Price is fair/market rate. Actually came out a 2nd time after repairs were done to check for leaks. Highly recommended.
Yelp
Joseph A.
Northridge, CA.
___________________
I first contacted Sherlock on June 7 to inquire about the cost of locating a leak in my master bathroom. I was told that the cost would be between $200-298 depending on how much work would be required to find the leak. I was also told that there wasn’t a difference in price for weekends or weekdays. I was told that they could come out the next day (Sun), but I wasn’t going to be home, so I said that would try to see if my brother could help me.
I called Sherlock again on June 12 to make an appointment and scheduled one for Saturday, June 14 at 1:00 pm. I called at 12:30p to let them know that I was stuck in traffic and would be about 15 minutes late getting home. I was told that it was no problem and he would just go to lunch first. Ron arrive at about 1:30p. He checked my master bathroom, then also checked my other bathroom and kitchen. He asked if I had been using my air conditioning, which I hadn’t, then wanted to go and look up in the attic. He didn’t have a ladder with him, but I had one in my garage that he borrowed. He looked up in the attic and then told me that he had good news. I didn’t have a leak. The “dripping” sound was coming from my attic whirlybird. He asked if I would like him to go up on the roof and try to fix it, which I gratefully said yes. I thought that was very nice of him to offer as I didn’t think that was probably part of a leak detection service. He went up on my roof and got the noise to stop, but told me that the whirlybird was loose so his fix was probably just temporary. Sure enough, the sound started again within a couple of hours, but at least I know the source now and am not concerned about water damage or black mold.
Ron charged me $100 for a service call only.!
Angie’s List
Judy L.
Reseda, CA.
___________________
I hope to never have leaks in my future; however if I do, Sherlock Leak Detectives will be the company that I use.
Ron from Sherlock Leak Detectives came out to the house within 2 hours of my phone call. He was able to quickly identify my leak, and he spoke with the plumber to ensure he knew the source of the problem.
He is very professional, knowledgeable, and courteous. He made what could have been a stressful process very quick and painless.
Thank you Ron!

Yelp
Anthony S.
Los Angeles, CA.
___________________

Ron, the owner of the company, came out within 2 hours of the phone call.  He brought several infrared instruments, and meters which helped him trace the source of the leak in our kitchen.  It was difficult to find the source of the leak due to it being intermittent.  However, he was able to narrow down the cause to a hot water pipe located behind our kitchen sink and cabinets.
Member Comments:
After Ron narrowed down the location of the leak another service was called in named 911 Restoration.  They ended up tearing out the cabinets and sure enough a hot water pipe was found to be leaking in the wall just behind our kitchen sink. The following day Ron was able to return in order to verify the leak and video tape it for our insurance company. He is definitely a very friendly person who really knows his business.  I promised that I would write a great letter of recommendation for him on Angie’s List.  If you have a mysterious leak in your house be sure to call Ron at Sherlock Leak Detectives. (800) 518-0771

Angie’s List
Michael K.
Thousand Oaks, CA.
___________________

This company locates leaks in the plumbing system.  They showed up on time and were able to find the leak within an hour.

Angie’s List
Sampath P.
Thousand Oaks, CA.

___________________

Roin came, he saw, he conquered! Quick return call in evening. Came out the next day.By a series of deductive steps explaining each one to me, using sound detection equipment and brain power he discovered the leak. Though the leak seemed to be outside he asked if he could check the house to make sure the leak was from the outside. He went on all three floors checking every water outlet, no leaks discovered. He went to the water meter and observed a very slow leak. Only by putting gas in the system through the back yard hose and using his stethoscope did he find the leak. He then turned the gas on again so I could hear the leak, when he turned the gas off everything was silent. Couldn’t be happier.

Leak detection is an art in and of itself, my irrigation man who was out earlier tried several fixes, and told me watch if the leak stopped in the next few days because he couldn’t be sure.
Angie’s list strikes again!

Angie’s List
Steven K.
Burbank, CA.

___________________

We had water leaks inside the walls/ceilings of two of our bathrooms. My husband called Sherlock Leak Detectives, based on its outstanding Angie’s List rating. The owner was at our house four hours later. He was very professional and explained everything he was planning to do before he did it. He found the sources of the leaks and made suggestions on how to fix them.

Member Comments:
He clearly knows his job and does it very well. We would use Sherlock Leak Detectives again and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Angie’s List
Kathy S.
Calabasas, CA.

___________________

It was a wonderful experience. Ron showed up on-time and was very professional. He was able to find the leak. Additionally he looked for more possible leaks in the area. I would definitely recommend him.

Angie’s List
Drew K.
Sherman Oaks, CA.

___________________

We used the company to locate a slab leak.  The process went very well.  Raanan was punctual and very professional.  He attacks the problem with a very logical process using both infrared and sonic technology.  Raanan communicates very well as he goes through his process of detecting (he is quite informative).  I would certainly recommend for those looking to find the source of a leak.

Angie’s List
Conard L.
West Hills, CA.

___________________

Called Sherlock Leak Detectives on a Sunday afternoon after being told by a plumber that I needed a specialist in leak detection.

He came as soon as he completed another job.
Ron was here for hours trying to detect the exact spot where the leak was located. He taped off an area that appeared to have the highest concentration of water.
He recommended a plumber, spoke to him and had him come the next day.
When the plumber came to fix the problem, it wasn’t exactly where Ron had estimated.
I called, and “Sherlock” was here within 15 minutes. He and the plumber spent an additional 2 hours trying to find the source of the leak.
Ron utilized every conceivable technological piece of equipment, ran gas through the pipes, and switched hot and cold water feeds to try and solve the problem.
He ended up finding the small leak inside a plastic sleeve – nearly indiscernible. There was no additional charge for his second service call.
This is a service professional who definitely knows his are of expertise. Listening to him think through the situation and trying to visualize  a mass of pipes through dirt and concrete was an amazing experience.
I totally hate having a water leak but if I had to have one, this is the guy to help get it fixed!

Angie’s List
Ann Marie M.
Studio City, CA.

___________________

Ron answered my call on a Sunday and stopped by my home in Rancho Palos Verdes the same day.  He was friendly and methodical and found a leak in the wall.

The plumber came out the day and fixed that leak, but apparently caused another in a different place.  Ron came out again and found a slab leak that we did not spot originally, giving a price break for the second visit.   I am pleased with the service and would use it again

Angie’s List
Jeff S.
Rancho Pallos Verdes, CA.

___________________

Sherlock Leak Detection was quick and professional. Multiple electronic tools were used to pinpoint the leak and provide information. Found a difficult leak

Angie’s List
David K.
Malibu, CA.

___________________

Sherlock Leak Detection was quick and professional. Multiple electronic tools were used to pinpoint the leak and provide information regarding the size/area under the floor. The leak was accurately found, enabling my plumber to repair it. I appreciate Ron’s fast work, and his assistance with this problem. I would most certainly use his services again if required.

Angie’s List
Ken P.
Granada Hills, CA.

___________________

I called Ron Sherlock Leak Detection two days ago because of the positive reviews on Angie’s List.  I didn’t think he would come out to Chino Hills because it was so far from his office, but he contacted me that night and said he’d be in my area the next day.  He arrived promptly and checked out our problem (water damage to bamboo flooring in front room). We didn’t have a leak, but probably a ground water problem. Ron then provided us with the name of another contractor who could do the work to fix it. Thanks Ron!

Angie’s List
Patricia S.
Chino Hills, CA.

___________________

I was told by a sprinkler company, from Angie’s list, that one of the sprinkler lines were leaking somewhere. They gave me a name of another leak detection business but I looked one up on Angies and called Sherlock. They came out the same day. Just as Ron pulled out his case to look for the leak, I noticed a manual sprinkler attached to a hose which was  turned on. It turns out that there wasn’t a leak because there was a sprinkler left turned on. Sherlock leak did not charge me for leak detection which he had not been done yet. He charged me for a service call only. I felt that was fair, for his time, to drive out, so I was very satisfied.

Angie’s List
Valerie G.
Los Angeles, CA.

___________________

Ron found the pipe that was causing a slow leak . After that , he got a drying specialist to come at 7 pm, a plumber to come the next day ( I had difficulty finding one, even on Angie’s list —there was a two week waiting period, they were all so busy) to stop the leak and stop further damage, got me in touch with a public adjuster if I wanted one and followed up on subsequent days to make sure everything is ok. The last is not part of his job and the referrals too, but I really appreciated his kindness because during this time I was so sick that my doctor wanted to hospitalize me.

It was money well spent.
Thanks, Ron

Member Comments:
I called Angie’s list because I had difficulty finding a reliable leak detector. I knew it would be difficult because we had shut the water main and and water meter was not moving. The meter was functioning well well we turn on the faucet. All water sources, refrigerator lines,etc were ok. And there was staining on my granite floor.
Angie’s list gave me Ron’s number and I called him and he came right that day. He called at the appointed time and said his car malfunctioned and he was waiting for AAA.
Anyway, he was very professional, very thorough and very patient. He was apologetic because after using all his high tech tools, it took him approx 3 hours to find the leak. He checked the roof, made sure the pool was not self filling, even looked at the a/c. And checked all water lines.
I said not to worry, he was charging a flat rate. After he found the leak, he called a drying specialist and referred me to a plumber who came the next day to stop the leak and mitigate further damage. He also referred me to a public adjuster for help with insurance.
He even followed up the next day and consulted with the plumber because the plumber had difficulty locating the leak.
He also made several follow up calls to make sure everything was running smoothly.
The extr a hours he spent organizing the other tradesmen are so valuable to me as I am disabled and very ill during this time and my husband worked long hours.
A sweet honest and professional person!
I was embarrassed to ask for the $20 discount posted on Angie’s list but he gave it anyway.

Angie’s List
Maria R.
Buena Park, CA.

___________________

Raan provided leak detection for leak we suspected to be under the slab of my home…. He found the leak fairly quick using state of the art equipment… He also provided me with names of good plumbers as well as someont to help with my insuranse if I needed to use them.

Member Comments:

He found the leak fairly quick using state of the art equipment…
He also provided me with names of good plumbers as well as someone to help
with my insurance if I needed to use them.
He was very helpful and respectful and I would use him again and refer to anyone else that needs this service.

Angie’s List
Kim S.
West Hills, CA.

___________________

I located Sherlock Leak Detectives on Angies List.  I called them at about 9AM on Monday July 29,2013,. and spoke to Roanan.  I explained that I suspected that I had an underground leak because my water bill had soared to a huge amount for us (over $800). He asked me if I had a pool.. When I told him that I did he explained that he did not check for pool leaks.  Therefore if the leak was in the pool I would have to call a different service which specialized in pool leaks.  I told him I was confident that the leak was not in the pool. He told me what his rate was and that he could be there at about 2PM.

He called when he was on his way and arrived promptly. He took out his equipment and began checking for leaks in my sprinkler system, each faucett, and all pipes inside and outside the house and under the floor.. He concluded that I did not have an underground leak.  He candidly told me how I could check the pool for a leak when we discovered that an automatic refill was automatically refilling my pool.  I was under the impression that this device had not worked for some time. He suggested that I check for a pool leak before I call a pool leak detector.  He recommended both a pool leak detector company and a company that could repair the leak if one is found.
He stated that because I did not have a detectable leak he would charge me less than his quoted rate. He charged me substantially less than the rate he had quoted me on the phone.  If I had a leak he would have had to spend time in locating the source of the leak.   He was honest, candid and went about his work in a highly efficient manner.  I would have no hesitation what so ever in recommending him and his company to anyone.

Angie’s List
Geraldine S.
Sherman Oaks, CA.

___________________

We suspected a pipe leak in our concreate slab, noticed hot spots in our tile entry way and ajoining bedroom closet floor, which has carpet. Plumbing company called Ron on a Saturday morning and he arrived within an hour. He was friendy, professional, knowledgeable & informative. He had  up-to-date equipment and was able to pin point the exact location of leaking pipe within 45 min. Thank goodness the leak was in slab of closet area, no tile needed to be destroyed. Pipe repaired and carpet layed back down. Ron stayed at our house while plumbers opened up the slab and started repairing the pipe. Great job on locating the leak!

Angie’s List
Debra P.
Oxnard, CA.

___________________

We  had a leak that our plumber could not find, water coming up under the tile in one of the offices in our building.  Ron came out immediately and found the leak.  So glad we found you on Angie’s List!

Angie’s List
Teresa E.
West Hills, CA.

___________________

Got a huge water bill this month and a friend told me that I probably have a water leak. A plumber I called told me he would come to detect the leak for $500, and he would waive that fee if my house needed to be re-piped. It sounded a little expensive, so I found Sherlock Leak. They came and located a small leak under the floor. The plumber only had to open a small hole to repair the pipe. Sure beats the cost of re-piping. I saved a lot of money.

Angie’s List
Zvi Y.
West Hills, CA.

___________________

Came home from work and the floor in the entry was wet. My plumber said I needed a leak detection company and I found Sherlock Leak on the internet. They arrived to locate the leak that same day, sure enough it was a pipe leak under the slab which the plumber fixed the next day. I appreciate the fast and professional service, and reasonable prices.

Angie’s List
Eran C.
Woodland Hills, CA.

___________________

Brilliant!

When others were totally flummoxed, Ron came through.
(He persisted and found the leak with Nitrogen…)
Thorough. Honest. Professional.
Highly Recommended.

Google+
Keith B.
West Hills, CA.

___________________

I had a slab leak in a wall with new custom cabinets on both sides!  We were expecting the worst (having cabinets disassembled)! We called the contractor who recommended a leak specialist.  We thought of calling a plumber, but didn’t realize a leak specialist existed.  We found Sherlock Leak Detectives and Raanan came right out.  Our leak was luckily behind our very easily movable refridgerator.  We lucked out and Ron was fabulous.  SO very nice and well priced.  We’re grateful and appreciative.  We recommend him highly.  His company name is apt.  He has a amazing tool that took him right to the leak.  Very interesting.  MANY THANKS!

Yelp
Agi P.
Canoga Park, CA.

___________________

These guys are professional and efficient. It was very nice that they were on time, had all the parts and got the job done in a couple of hours. They even called to let me know they are on the way!

Good job !!!

Yelp
Galit E.
Calabasas, CA.

___________________

Sherlock Leak Detectives is great! We suspected a slab leak under the tile flooring in our entry way. Ron came out and found the exact location of the leak. Luckily it was under the wall between the entry way and adjacent bedroom and could be repaired by pulling back carpet and opening up the slab in the closet of the bedroom; no demo of tile was needed. Ron is really nice, professional and informative. His rates are very reasonable. We came out on a Saturday, and his fee was still less the the plumber was going to charge to find the leak on a regular work day. Thank you again for a great job!

Yelp
Debra P.
Oxnard, CA.

___________________

We are so fortunate to find Raanan of Sherlock Leak Detectives.  Raanan was able to find the leak with his high tech gagets without destroying our walls and cabinets.  Before Raanan came, we were planning to cut holes in our walls, move cabinets etc. to find the source of  the leak.  Raanan and his team did such an awesome job.  We hope that we don’t have anymore leak; but if we do, we definitely use Sherlock Leak Detectives again.

Yelp
Evelyn N.
Calabasas, CA.

___________________

Excellent! Very helpful and was here for ages trying to find our leak only to determine we didn’t have one and that what we were seeing was being caused by ground water. He was very thorough, will definitely call again if we need anything!

Yelp
Brandy M.
Newbury Park, CA.

___________________

I called Sherlock Leak Detectives because I was suspecting I had a leak that effect my flooring. Some of my floor got raised up. Raanan came to my house and inspect everything. He was very nice and polite. He checked around the house with some tools. I was very pleased with the service specially when he told me that there is no leak. Couldn’t ask for better service.

Yelp
Nir B.
Sherman Oaks, CA.

___________________

A very good experience – arrived promptly, located the leak, and provided good advice.  I highly recommend Sherlock

Yelp
Nancy B.
Woodland Hills, CA.

___________________

I would highly recommend Sherlock Leak Detectives anytime.  My water bill had gone up very high and that’s when I realized that I had to bring someone to see if I have a leak anywhere.  I called Sherlock Leak and spoke with Ron.  From the moment I spoke with him I knew he was very knowledgeable and honest.  He addressed every question and concern I had.  He came out to my house and spent a few hours looking and checking everywhere.  Ron would not stop until he found out where the leak was.  It was finally found in my back yard under the slab.  I had to hire a plumber to repair the leak.  Ron came by again, at no extra charge,  to see that everything was ok.  Professional, honest, caring and amazing service! Thanks Ron for all your help!

Yelp
Lisa D.
Los Angeles, CA.

___________________

Ron from Sherlock Leak Detectives came to our residence on Sunday March 2nd, 2014. He was very professional, informative helpful over the phone when I called to arrange him to look at our water leak problem. He came in and he was as pleasant and easy to talk to as he was on the phone. He has done and exceptional job to find the leak at ones under the sink cabinet. I was so relieved that we did not had to cut the wood flooring and the concrete in the middle of the kitchen, when  originally we thought to do so. He pin pointed the leak under the cabinet and our repair man cut the bottom of the cabinet, the concrete below that and repaired it quickly. I would recommend his services to anyone who needs leak detection. He is a fine gentlemen and a professional utmost. Thanks a lot Ron.

Yelp
Handan Y.
Oxnard, CA.

___________________

This service is totally awesome, I had water coming up from the floor and my grandchildren were in for the weekend so shutting off the water was not an option. My plumber recommended Sherlock Leak and they came out within the hour (and please remember this was a Saturday) and marked the spot for the plumber to repair the leak. It seemed to me as if Ron took the issue of finding the leak personally. Amazing service. Thank you

Yelp
Talma A.
Woodland Hills, CA.

___________________

Great service provider

Honest
Punctual
Knowledgeable
Highly recommend
Ended up having three leaks. Ron had to return 2 more times and spent hours with the plumbers at no additional cost.
He will stick with it until a solution is found . Although it was perplexing and frustrating with the unique circumstances of these problems, Ron maintained his professionalism and pleasant demeanor.

Yelp
Ann Marie M.
Studio City, CA.

___________________

We had a slab leak in a pipe under the kitchen floor. The first plumber that came tried to find the leak and opened the floor in two different places, but could not find it. Then we had to call a second plumber who recommended we contact “Sherlock” to accurately locate the leak. I didn’t even know there is such a specialty called “leak detection”. The second plumber explained to me that they use special equipment that usually plumbers do not have because it requires special training and experience.


Sherlock located a tiny pinhole leak in the pipe and it was fixed in no time. Raanan the owner explained to me that the leak made such a loud noise because the hole in the pipe was very small and the water pressure in the house was and, that is why the leak was so hard to locate, it was noisy all over the house.

Anyway I was very happy with the service and impressed with their expertise.

Yelp
Ygal E.
Tarzana, CA.

___________________

We had water flooding our media room, with the water originating from somewhere under our custom built in entertainment center. Our cabinet company suggested that before we start cutting the cabinets open, we try a leak detection service. I had never considered that a “real” business before. I couldn’t have been more wrong.

Ron was able to be at our house within a couple hours of our call. He had tools and equipment that allowed him to trace and identify exactly where the pipes under our slab were located. Then, with his sound equipment, he found the most likely spot for the source of the leak,which in our case was at the base of the wall behind the refrigerator. Ron showed me the spot, I cut open the drywall, and the leak was within 3 inches of his location. The gods were smiling on us, as we won’t have to destroy any custom cabinetry to get to the source.
I can’t say enough good things about Ron. He was friendly, professional, informative, and capable. If you have this type of problem needing resolution, put all reservations aside and call Ron at Sherlock. Oh yeah, the best part: before he came he said, “If I can’t find the source of your leak, I won’t charge you.” How’s that for confidence in his service?”

Angie’s List
Agi P.
West Hills, CA.

___________________

We had water coming out from our floor. The plumber could not find the problem so we called Sherlock Leak. They came to the property very fast and detect the leak in a very professional way.
They have proper fascinating up to date equipment. The worker that came to my house was very knowledge and handle my concerns in a very professional way. As I wish not to have another problem, but If I will – I will use them again.
Thank You So Much for a great service.

Angie’s List
Carmit C.
Sherman Oaks, CA.

___________________

I called Ron as I found him on google for leak detection and he was local and I prefer to do business locally. I actually cancelled my appointment as I know my leak is in the slab and repairing it is going to cost half as much as repiping the whole house. (Once galvanized goes it continues to go) Ron lives in the area and still stopped by my house on his way home and used the infrared camera to look for water and detect the leak at no charge since he was driving past anyway. He was so nice and professional and he agreed with me that repiping is the best bet. I have a friend who is plumber that I am going to be using and let Ron know this but he still made it a point to stop by and check the leak to make sure I was not in any serious trouble or need a water damage person to come. I cannot thank him enough! (Ron THANK YOU SO MUCH AGAIN!) I am so impressed that Ron still stopped by even know I was not paying him to make sure I was OK.

Yelp
Wendy M.
West Hills, CA.

___________________

Details of the Recommendation: “He is very responsible, very reliable. Until he figures out what the problem is, he will not rest. And it has nothing to do with making money. It has to do with integrity and accountability. I had a great experience and I don’t think one can find a better service.”
Service Category: Leak detection
Year first hired: 2013
Top Qualities: Great Results, Expert, Good Value

linkedin
Inna G.
Calabasas, CA

___________________

Ron is fine at detecting the leak—he has the equipment and you can hear where the leak is— but he will likely refer you to only ONE qualified plumber that he works with.

Angie’s List

Sabine M.
Los Angeles, CA.
___________________

Leak Detection

Unseen leaks in your walls or under concrete slab will cause extensive damage to your home if not located and repaired immediately.
learn more

Thermal Imaging

We use state of the art, non-invasive thermal imaging infrared cameras to identify the source of water intrusion.

Pool Leaks

Get ready for Summer! Call the experts of Sherlock Leak to locate your pool & spa leaks.